Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another Molly, a manger and a poet

I went to visit my old friend, C, in Cumbria today. It was a lovely clear sunny day. We enjoyed chatting over coffee, over lunch and after lunch. It's always good to see her.

I took my camera (of course) and wondered just what to blip. C's hands came a close second to Molly, the cat. (Sorry Molly the gorgeous collie - but I do still love you!)

I saw the Christmas nativity scene in the background and it reminded me of one of U.A. Fanthorpe's poems, The Cat in the Manger published in BC-AD which is a collection of Christmas poetry. You may have heard an excellent programme on Radio 4 before Christmas about UA and this book.

U.A. came into my life when I read the collection Side Effects many years ago. I liked the wittiness and pinsharp observations she brought to poetry. If you don't know her work I can recommend the Collected Poems or a wonderful little book of love poetry From Me to You. I met her 3 years ago at the Keswick Literary Festival where I said things like "I so love your poetry" and other bits of inane nonsense, while she signed a book for me.

In the story, I'm not there
Ox and ass arranged in prayer
But me? Nowhere

from The Cat in the Manger by UA Fanthorpe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.