Anticipation

Dinner tomorrow night with the hunter :-)

I'm getting my head around the media beat up over today's GN Science update on Christchurch's earthquake future. Yes, we did have a magnitude 5. While I would have preferred not to be in the smallest room in the house at the time it wasn't that big a deal.

Sure it helps when it doesn't wake you up and better still when the power stays on. But 16km away as opposed to 2-4kms makes a huge difference.

We could have quakes for decades. What the media didn't mention was that the scientists said these are likely to be magnitude 1 -3. Most of these we won't even feel (and some will depend on where you are relative to where the epicentre is.

But let's have some perspective here. This is NZ. We aren't on a fault line, our country exists because of the boundary of 2 techtonic plate boundaries. We are a faultline. Wherever you live in NZ you can expect earthquakes for decades and if not an earthquake then perhaps some inconviently located volcanic activity.

In decades from now I could be dead from any manner of causes. I don't like the quakes but I love our mountains, hills and landscape. We can't have one without the other.

We live with constant reminders we can't control much in life. That's an uncomfortable reality. Tomorrow I could be killed by a drunk driver. I can't predict or know that either.

What will be will be.

So what am I going to do?

1. Look forward to seeing the hunter tomorrow and going out to dinner with him.

2. Getting on with my life and living it to the full.

:-)

Yesterday - me with my new edge clippers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.