Edge clippers

I've spent 6 years on my knees trimming the edges. Fit for purpose edge clippers are a revelation. I bought them New Year's eve and they've proved to be a revelation today.

As you can see I'm pretty happy with them :-)

I'm also pleased as I'm achieving a sense of balance to my week at home. I've had days out on the hills tramping and then today working on things I wanted to do outside. Both are satisfying.

Later today I went to visit a friend who lives on the edge of what was the CBD. I biked (mostly on the footpath) up the wrong way on Barbados St. With many inner city streets cordoned off it's not simple to pass through the city on a bike. If you have a death wish there is Fitzgerald Ave otherwise the accepted norm seems to be what I do and go the wrong way up Barbados St.

The footpath, edges of the road and approaches to bridges all bear fresh scars of Decemeber 23 quakes. It was definitely rougher and more bumpy than my last pre-Christmas trip.

It's harder to work out what is new damage on already damaged buildings or ruins, what's due to demolition and what's been broken for months.

Curiously, despite my familiararity with ruins and broken stuff, my brain still tells me I'm passing through a movie set. Yet my brain also knows it's for real.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.