Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Still Light!

So, this isn't a PARTICULARLY interesting picture of a rather wiry looking tree.

But I took it for two reasons:
1. to convince Scharwenka that I don't ALWAYS take pictures of rodents (he seems to think I'm obsessed with them, which is probably true, but don't tell him)!
2. to show that it is STILL LIGHT after 4.00 in the afternoon! Hurrah! The sun will one day return to our Northern Hemisphere, and, one day, it may be summer again. The shortest and darkest days are now over!

Of course, there is the rest of January, and all of February to get through, and even March and April can be a bit nasty sometimes, but it does feel as though things are looking up! Hurrah!

So, apart from daylight, what of today?

Well, this morning we had around half an hour of all five ratties in the big cage together, with me supervising in case there was any trouble. Charlie and Moses were perfect hosts, and politely washed the ears of the small boys. The small boys enjoyed running around the space, and were suitably deferential to their elders! It was a pleasure to behold. Hopefully it won't be too long before they can all move in together permanently.

Then, of course, I really should get on with the cage extension so that they have plenty of space. A human's work is never done!!!

Other than that, I've been busy doing admin. I've sorted my bank accounts, which have been untouched for a month and a half. Even though the overdraft and amounts owing are still fairly substantial, I am at least pleased that the bank and I agree on how much of my special anti-matter money I'm keeping with them!

I'm also sorting out calendars, bits of paper from my in-tray and so on, and I managed to deal with 300 e-mails this morning. I don't think I'll be able to do everything immediately, but it's going pretty well.

Now the Wonderspouse is out until late at some poetry thing or other, so I have the whole evening ahead. I think it's probably nearly time to get a snack and let the cats in (it IS now starting to get dark), and then I'll be back to my desk. If I get enough paperwork done, I may even get to do some proper study!

And, of course, there are always ratties who are happy to play at any time!

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.