Journey Through Time

By Sue

Female Oregon Junco

From the little book "All the Backyard Birds" the West edition.

No songbird shows more variation than the junco. Scientists have often reversed themselves on whether the different forms should be classified as species or as races of a single species. Currently all forms are considered races of one species: the dark-eyed junco.

All forms of the dark-eyed junco have dark eyes, pale bills, and white outer tail feathers. The white in the tail is especially conspicuous when the bird flies from the ground, where it feeds, to the low branches of a tree.

The Oregon form is the most numerous in the Pacific Coast states.


So, I did it right and got out my old tripod and stood out there and waited. And there they came. The only one who took exception to my standing near the suet feeder was the flicker. It came, landed on a branch ready to take a turn at the suet, saw me and nearly had a stroke as it soared back into the sky and was gone.

These photos came out better than just hand holding the camera, but working with the tripod will take some practice. I just never messed with it much, even though I've had it for ages.

We went to Best Buy today to look at camera bags. I had one thing in mind and came home with another thing. I ended up with the same thing my cousin has (smaller version), the Lowepro Sling bag. I had taken in my camera and the nice young man who helped us, snickered I believe. Well, jeez Louise, not ALL of us can afford the $3000 set up, pal. Humph! Of course, I immediately WANTED the nicer, better lenses. Drool. Another year, perhaps.

Have a good day Blippers. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.