Mystery Blip

Had to nip into work this morning for some TQFE stuff then back home at lunch time for physio. On the way home Roz suggested we nip across the bridge for a blip and took me somewhere which, despite living less than two miles from, I had no idea existed before today.

The building on the left of the shot is Rosyth Castle. Roz went to see it for doors open day back when I was in India a couple of years back. Apparently it was on a tidal island until the 1920s when it all silted up. The land was later reclaimed for part of the Rosyth docks and is now part of Forth Port.

I got shots from distance ok, but as we were heading away I saw you could walk right up to it. Since this was the case, and it was out-with the fence and security gates of the port (in the right of the shot) I thought I'd get some closer up detail blips. As I started fishing my camera back out my bag a security guard stuck his head out the door of teh portacabin 30 or so feet away and shouted "Cannae take photaes". If he'd wandered over and politely explained I'd have been a bit les annoyed about his attitude. After all, as I'd stated it wasn't within the port and it wasn't like I was pointing the camera anywhere near any of the security stuff for the port.

It's probably just as well that I had to get back for physio or I'd have just snapped away and pretended I didn't hear him then got into a protracted argumet with him when he came over. After all I wasn't causing any harm, damaging any property or posing any security threat.

I might have to go back on a day when I have less to do and get better photos. Maybe I should point out that if I wanted photos of their security I could sit on the hill the other side of the road with a 400mm or longer lens and get all the detail I wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.