The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sparkle

There was a familiar start to the day, a grey pall of cloud blotting out the sky. But then as the morning went on it cleared, the sun came out and the sky was blue. The first really sunny day since before Christmas.

As I walked the bank of the big meander in the River Kent at lunchtime, I was walking into the sun. This moorhen was swimming across the river partially shaded by the alders, but the bright sunlight was sparkling in its wake. This may be best appreciated large.

While I was sat in the office this afternoon, there was the most amazing red sky, our friend Simon was walking along the estuary at the time and the water picked up the red blush for an Arnside classic sunset. Shame I missed that, but hopefully one of the local blippers will have captured it.

Meanwhile the yearlist has progressed again. Yesterday I forgot to mention I heard a tawny owl kewicking as I arrived home in the dark, while on my lunchtime walk today I saw a treecreeper in the beeches along the old canal path. So that makes 82 so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.