A time for everything

By turnx3

Grand piano

Thursday
The piano tuner came this afternoon, and that gave me an idea for a blip - the inside of my grand piano, my pride and joy. My Mum was a piano teacher, so I grew up with a grand piano in the house, and always dreamed of having one of my own one day. When Roger and I got married, I really missed not having a piano to play, so Mum and Dad offered to lend us the money to buy a re-conditioned upright piano. This came to the States with us, and moved to France and back with us, and both our girls learned to play on it, but about ten years ago it was becoming in need of more work, and we decided it had done us well, but it was time to replace it, and finally my dream came true - I got my grand piano. You can see the outside of it in this shot I took at Christmas time. It is made by Schimmel, a German company. Wilhelm Schimmel started his company in 1885 in Leipzig, Germany. In 1927, Wilhelm Arno Schimmel, a second generation Schimmel, continued the legacy. He moved the production location to Brunswick. Today the Schimmel piano company is one of the few piano manufacturing companies still being managed by descendants of the man who founded it.
On the weather front, the day started quite mild, in the upper 40s, grey and overcast. The temperatures have steadily dropped throughout the day and are now in the 20s, heading down into the teens overnight. It snowed quite steadily for a while this afternoon and started settling quite quickly, but then it stopped as suddenly as it started, which was good for the evening commute. We're supposed to have a bit more overnight, but no more than an inch, if that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.