Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Lifesaver

Another glorious day (what on earth is happening to our weather?), so it didn't take much to persuade me to get out and about.

I'd got a notion in my head about buying a new compact sound system to replace the wonderful Pioneer setup I had downstairs which gave up the ghost a while ago (hence the switch to my valve amp). I continued research this morning into where I might get what I was interested in, and sent off queries to some of them. I was a bit surprised to find Cloney Audio in Blackrock listed as a dealer, since they've long been considered only for the really well-off, but calling to their showrooms was the ultimate plan for the afternoon.

I was out early enough to have plenty of time for some blipping in the wonderful balmy sunshine. The Great South Wall was on the way, so that's where I aimed for. I walked the length of the wall down to the lighthouse and back, thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and came back with a well loaded camera. As usual, it wasn't easy to choose one shot as today's blip, and I agonised quite a bit before plumping for this one. The blue sky, bright sunlight and crisp shadows are a nice reminder of an unseasonably beautiful day.

Cloneys couldn't have been more helpful, unpacking an even cheaper unit than the one I'd gone in to enquire about and linking it to a nice pair of speakers. I sat back and spent a very pleasant thirty minutes or so putting things through their paces with a wide range of music and came away with a competitive quote and a clear intention to think some more over the weekend about my options.

It would have been a terrible waste not to let Carl know that I was in his neck of the woods, so I contacted him and he agreed to join me in Blackrock when he finished work. After a pint in the Breffni we made our way to Milano's in Dún Laoghaire for a bit of a pizza experience (principally because Carl had been there recently with a work crowd and had come away with some vouchers). The food was okay but far from great (though my meatball starter was actually very good).

I'd fully intended making my way back home, but we'd had a glass of wine with the meal and both felt that it wouldn't be wise for me to drive. So back to Carl's place we went for a bit of a break before calling in at The Eagles pub to see if the cross-the-road neighbour might be there (he wasn't) and then continuing down to Kozie II for a final pint. Back at Carl's Kino we finally managed to watch The King's Speech, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.