Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Perchance to dream......

"Where have you been today old friend?" asked my Mind of my Soul.

"Oh, not far, yet to the ends of the Earth and beyond. I have sat on the solar winds, been blown onto mysterious shores, danced in the pale glow of dying stars, sung to the twinkling heavens. I have stood on the shoulders of Orion and thought it not 'high enough', crept into the holes in the ground and found it too bright, sped across dark ocean floors and yet not been satisfied with the depth!"

"Are you not tired?" my mind wondered.

"Ahh but where would you rest? to find a place with peace, where silence lives amongst the noise of life, where light and dark dwell as neighbours, where the sun warms me and yet the cool breeze softly chills my temper. A place where love has sat, where a tear has soaked the ground and in it's fertile drop beauty appears, where laughter and sadness link arms and talk of journeys made together. Oh but a place would suit my wandering air!" Soul breathed.

Mind smiled........."Dear and constant companion, you seek but do not see, hear not for the listening, feel too much through numbness. You burn in the cold, are noisy in bold silence and too much maligned in quarrel with yourself! Simply be at rest....look yonder.. there is a throne for discourse such as ours!"

"Perhaps if you were to join me..........I could stop and rest awhile ?" Soul whispered.

One day, mind and soul will part, all things will decay and end....but for now, ....well, there is always time for a little chat.

If ever you pass this seat, or any like it really, stop..... and let soul and mind have a moment or two, you will have company no doubt....today, a day for dreaming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.