Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Temporary Accommodation

You know on Grand Designs, when people are building their dream house, and while it's being built they don't have a house to live in so they live in a caravan in the garden instead, and it's a bit too small, but it'll do for a short while because soon they'll have the house of their dreams and it'll be amazing?

Well, this is the caravan!

It's the cage I picked up yesterday and the five men have moved in today. It's certainly not big enough for 5 of them to live in for any length of time, but it'll only be for a few days until the work on their extended and improved home is completed. I shall also have them out and about to stretch their legs more than usual, so they don't get cabin fever - after all, sitting in caravans playing cards while the rain beats on the roof is one of those eternal nightmares of the sort of things people did for a "holiday" when I was a kid!

[For the record, my parents didn't take us on caravan holidays (except once, to Filey). We had tents instead, and when it rained we just kept walking through the peat bogs, which at least avoided having to play cards!!!]

Anyway, I'm diverging (as usual - my mind is a little capricious today)! Back to topic now - where was I?

Oh yes, the men have moved into this cage for a few days while I do their cage work - if you're thinking of getting 5 rats at any point in your life, please note that this cage is NOT big enough to house them permanently - I'd put a maximum of 3 in here for a permanent residence!

Anyway, today. Oh yes.

This morning I did the cage moving and some cleaning. My body (and mind) then conked out, so I slept on the sofa for an hour or so. Now it's mid-afternoon and I'm trying to make the house habitable for humans again - the upstairs is full of bits of rat cage and stuff, and the downstairs is just a complete state. I'm really a bit too tired to do anything today, but I'm not the kind of person who's very good at doing nothing, so I keep trying to sort stuff out!

Besides, I have to do something in the bedroom because the bed is currently unreachable! And something in the bathroom because the bath is full of bits of rat paraphernalia!

It'll all be worth it though when the men move into their extended abode!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.