Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Woodwork Bench

Despite feeling a bit on the tired side this morning I managed to get quite a lot done - crossed several items off the jobs list!

I then settled down for a rest in order to prepare myself for the rest of the day, since most of my activity today has been this afternoon and evening!

The afternoon was spent at Scharwenka's, filling him in on my various plans and ideas, drinking tea and so on!

Then I went to my first woodwork evening class. It started rather slowly as the tutor spent quite a long time explaining measuring and angles and so on (which I'm pretty comfortable with, being into maths and so on), but then got rather fun as we got doing stuff.

I now know what a "Dovetail Joint" is, and am about halfway through making one. My sawing technique left a bit to be desired on the first few cuts, but I improved pretty quickly, and by the end of the class I was confidently wielding a chisel and really rather enjoying myself!

The plan is, once we've mastered the joint on random bits of wood, to make a nice trinket box to keep things in! How cool! I think I'm going to take to woodwork very well indeed!

Oh, and I stopped for Chinese on the way home. Now I simply have to stay alert enough to drive until half past midnight when the Wonderspouse gets back to the bus stop and needs collecting!

A pretty long day really - will certainly be ready for the weekend soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.