Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What a difference a day makes...

I couldn't resist blipping another jay/peanut shot --- only this one has the added thrill of ... SNOW!!! Yes, we finally got the long-awaited snow. It looks like we got 6-8 inches, and it is the nice kind, powdery and light and easy to shovel. Also, great for attracting birds!

As you might remember, I participate in Project Feederwatch and today is one of my bird count days. Yea, about that ... I am going to need a new calculator. I lost count of the finches - good lord, who sent out the memo about the free food? Add to that about 20 juncos, a couple dozen sparrows, at least 8 blue jays, 6 morning doves ... and a partridge in a pear tree. Oh, wait, no partridges. However, a small flock of grackles joined up with some blue jays for a feeding fiesta. The grackles took off, except for this very ominous looking grackle who hogged up one of the bird feeders for awhile before deciding that he looked more menacing on the branch.

Thank you all so much for the hearts, stars and comments on yesterday's blue jay. I must say that the blue jays are among my favorites - such cleaver birds and endless fun to watch. You may enjoy a few other shots of the jays ...
Sometimes, we don't like to share!
Could someone make the snow stop now, please?
Really freaking cold!
I'll have this peanut, please
Who invited the grackle?

And, one more shot of grackle doing imitation of dove!

Well, it seems to have stopped snowing so I think I'll head out and refill some of the feeders - they buffet definitely took a hit today ...

Happy Saturday! And, to all my friends int he NE, I hope you are enjoying the snow as much as I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.