Is spring on the way?

The birds certainly think so and these flowers seem to do too. I took a short, circular walk, through the grounds of Wortley Hall and then round the track and back into the village after I'd picked up the paper this morning. The wind was blowing very strongly but it felt as though it was blowing air and some peace through my brain (which I needed). These flowers were in two of the village gardens. Snowdrops were coming up everywhere in the first garden (I think its a little more sheltered than where I live) and in the second, well I've never seen such a magnificent display of Cyclamen Coum - the front of the garden was covered.

I promised myself I wouldn't indulge my blip obsession until I'd finished my tax return, which I have, and for the first time ever, it seems the tax-man might give me a little back. This is mainly because I did far less consultancy than in previous years and because I had a couple of invoices outstanding - they didn't pay me till May. It feels great to have sent it off.

We've booked to go and see the David Hockney Exhibition at the RA and the Grayson perry curated exhibition at the British Museum (in February). I managed to get us a room in the Methodist Hotel and Conference Centre for £79 (for two) so I'm dead pleased! The train fares are a different matter - even though we're travelling off peak (twice as much as the hotel).

I've got to go and cook now but will be back later to comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.