Journey Through Time

By Sue

Recipe for a Rainy Day

Read some books.

It wasn't the deluge I thought it was going to be today. And that's good. I did have to go out and about on two errands and I managed to get that accomplished without too much trouble.

My books: Three library books, photographed and added about 4 things in Picnik. Fun! I read for entertainment and these fit the bill.

Lunatics by Dave Berry and Alan Zweibel, who are terrific comedy writers. Silly and often a bit crude, two opposites become embroiled in a world wide adventure of comedy and mayhem which brings impossible but highly entertaining results. I have read other things by Dave Berry, always an entertaining writer.

Chronos by Robert Silverberg, a Nebula Award wining author (says so right on the cover) in the Science Fiction genre. I love a good Sci-Fi book. I discovered this genre in about the 8th grade. This book is a collection of three novellas/short stories involving time travel. I enjoyed this book very much. I have read Heinlein, Azimov, Ursala Le Guin (who lives in Portland) and Alan Dean Foster, among many others. When I read escapist fiction, I really escape. Where else can you travel to the stars, and if the writing is really good, it seems very believable and you wonder why we can't just get in the star ship and just go.

Miracle Cure by Harlan Coben. I haven't started this one yet. I like his books as I do the books by writer Lee Child, who does a series of books about Jack Reacher. I have read a lot of the books by mystery writer Robert B. Parker who did the Spencer series (which became a TV series, Spencer for Hire). I like snappy, fast paced mysteries that keep me interested. I like them with a bit of humor. I have read most of Janet Evonovich's series, also. I haven't decided, even after reading 18 of her books, if I am that in love with her books or not. They are a bit over the top with her characters and the grandmother is just another version of Dorothy's Ma in The Golden Girls.

Okay, enough about that.

Hoping you are keeping up with the saga of Vodkaman, "An Englishman in Bandung." We have gripping reading right here on Blip. I've been reading his journal from the beginning....it's like a book on Indonesia, his life and bugs! Way fun. His journal.

Have a good day, Blippers. See ya later....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.