From the garden

I realised today that so much has changed in my life.

My colleagues are going back to work tomorrow. I am not. In saying that, I am working my butt off, just in a different way. I will not be a teacher this year. It's amazing how easy that is to comprehend. I've taught for 13 years, and this year I am 'a photographer'. There, I said it.

As I sit here, watching the outside world (looking more autumnal than high summer), I realise that I'm okay. I'm going to be okay. It's all going to be okay. My gallery/studio is on it's way to being finished; I have a stack of photos printed and framed; I'm putting in an order for some more; I'm open for business.

And I'm waiting for the terror of that fact to hit me ... But thus far it hasn't.

I've spent a happy five hours working in the garage - cleaning, tidying, lifting, painting. All the while I just felt content. That's a huge contrast to how I usually feel the day before school goes back after the summer holidays.

Wish me luck, people. 2012 - here I come.

========================================================

Oh, and these are some carrots from PJ's (my flatmate) wee hanging garden. I just loved the vibrant colours; as if thumbing their noses (not that carrots have noses ...) to the inclement weather.

And to think that I posted a photo of my garden's fruits this time last year too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.