The fruits of my labour

Two teeny tomatoes, warm from the morning sun.

Butter beans bursting with flavour.

Robust runner, gorgeously green.

Plums. Plums. Everywhere you look, plentiful plums.

I picked my third bucket full.

Yum.

Jam successfully dispatched to neighbour. I learnt her name and her husband's name. He fell in the kitchen and has been in hospital for a month. He is 93. He is coming home tomorrow. She has been lonely.

She smiled for the first time ever! (That I've seen). She gave me more jars and the promise of as many more as I want.

She doesn't preserve any more.

I promised her some of B's honey.

She loves honey.

A cruisy day of not giving my time to anyone. How selfish.

Then off to see B to get a photo developed BIG. We want to start getting them printed out. It seems a waste to have them trapped inside a computer.

Went to see the King's Speech. Very enjoyable.

Then back to B's for wine and KFC chicken. He had to charm the supervisor into giving him just chicken. He got a good price. That winning smile will do it every time.

Home to bed. Quite late. To toss and turn til morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.