The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

18 & 19 - Big Garden Birdwatch Weekend

I did it! I did it!

I managed to photograph all 19 birds I have submitted for this winters RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch weekend. I fell just two short for yesterday's blip. To the left we have a lovely male Chaffinch, to the right, an equally resplendent male Blackbird.

The challenge was thrown down by Wildlife Kate Macrae on her website. I am always one for a good challenge! You can see mine, Kates and a few others Flickr streams from this link.

I pretty much got similar birds and numbers from yesterday, I was hoping the cold weather may have dragged a few Bramblings or Goldcrests down, but alas now. The weather is set to stay cold and wintery for the next few days, so it will be interesting to see if the dynamics change out there.

I did manage one bonus bird this morning! Whilst eating my porridge, a cute little Jenny Wren hoped around outside the patio doors looking for spiders and what not. She was not in full voice like Friday's Newport Wetlands bird, but she did stop and pose quite photogenically in the remenants of my wildlife garden.

A great weekend for social science. My twitter feed has been full of excited bird watchers, far more than previous bird count weekends. It's put a smile on my face all weekend!

Tomorrow!!!! A new Blip Challenge for you followers ... you up for it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.