Pelican

This morning was so pristine that I jumped out of bed, hitched the boat up and headed out onto the bay. I put the boat in the water at Wynnum Harbour which isn't my usual boat ramp but I wanted to launch in a spot that was close to where I wanted to fish. Wynnum Harbour used to service a couple of trawlers and to this day there are always lots of pelicans around, waiting for a handout.

As for me, after launching I took a criuse out the the D'Arcy light beacon and started casting lures. Not five minutes later half a dozen pelicans flew in, skimming the water surface. They must have thought I was a crabber because the hung around the back of the boat. Sadly I had nothing for them. I didn't take any bait at all. Just lures and I think the pelicans would have found them a bit crunch or squishy.

Lucky for me I had the camera with me and I snapped quite a few approach and landing shots as well as some amazing low level gliding.

That wasn't the only treat either. I spotted dolphins several times and a juvenile turtle poked its head above the water to get a better look at me.

The bay is crystal clear at the moment. I was fishing in 4 metres of water and could see clear to the bottom. There wasn't a breath of wind until just before I headed back in. What a great way to start the day.

Erm, sadly I didn't catch any fish. Some things don't change!

Now to get ready for work. At least it's Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.