ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

M.

When we woke up this morning, the sky was on fire over the mountains. I could easily have put (yet another) landscape up, but I took this picture of M while he wasn't looking, and was pretty proud of it. It may not be technically very good, but that is very much my M... Just seems to capture him as I see him. (He's very handsome, isn't he?)

We had a lovely breakfast as we watched the sunrise, and managed to get up to the mountains fairly early for a good day's skiing at Aviemore; only a few runs open, but those that were were good fun. M is a much better boarder than I am a skier, but we still enjoy zipping down the slopes together! We had leftover meatballs and some veggie soup for our lunch today... Nothing better than sitting in the car park enjoying the view and some good, hot food, while everyone around you is eating a £8.50 sweaty cheese sandwich from the mountain cafe! We stopped by the cafe for a beer (I swear it makes me ski better) before meeting up with a friend for a couple more slides before the lifts closed.

The best part of our day was still to come: M and I had a lovely evening in the sauna when we got home. It was wonderful! You really feel so healthy after a day's skiing and 40 minutes in the sauna, followed by an outdoor shower in rainwater heated in copper kettles on the woodburning stove. That has been my BEST part of 2012 so far! We didn't feel like cooking tea tonight so we went out to the Old Bridge Inn in Aviemore and had an amazing steak... Home to watch the stars and drink brandy.... What a day. SMILES all round!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.