ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Cheese-and-wine Cake

Since my last post, it's been the birthdays of V and G from work - and we've had one cracking night out at a cocktail bar to celebrate, and will be heading over to V's house tomorrow for a night in with cheese, wine, and a cheese-and-wine-themed-cake (made by N and myself this evening - we are very proud).

We also have had the office Burns' night supper - which I'm not going into detail over, mainly because it's fuzzy, and the next day I was so convinced I was dying, I had to take the day off work. Happily I had lots of flexi-time built up already after a busy project at the beginning of this month, so I could lounge in bed all day and think about how much fun my boss was going to make of me the next day (lots, it turned out).

Today N and I met up at my house after dinner, and baked two big sponge cakes - one as the base and one to make a bottle shape and a wedge-of-cheese shape. We spent ages gluing everything together with jam, making a buttercream filling, and colouring and rolling out icing - it was a lot of fun, but the kitchen looked like an explosion in Mr Kipling's by the end of it. We worked from 7.00pm until 10.00pm, and at the end, treated ourselves with the offcuts of sponge glued to the offcuts of icing with jam. AH-MAZING with a cup of tea. We can't wait to surprise V and G with it tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.