Maungawhau moon

Back in the city for work. Chose to run to the top of Maungawhau for the first time this year. Before I left the apartment, I noticed the very full moon hanging low in the sky; big and silvery. The sun was still to rise as I headed out along the quiet city streets.

When I reached the entrance to the Maungawhau domain, I found that the gate was still shut; unusual at this time of a summer's morning, thought I. Then at the end of the down hill part of Summit Drive (I walk up the steep way), there was a barrier and a sign to say that Summit Drive was closed while the Council upgrades road and footpaths. A number of us would like cars and especially buses banned so as to protect the relatively fragile cone.

Ascending the road I chanced to look west, where I saw the moon looking very like A sun-kissed moon, posted in March 2010. Took a photo in a slightly different place to that one, and continued to the top. Over the last 300m I was followed by three energetic dog walkers talking about the problems caused by school uniforms changing fashion every year (for their daughters clearly; not their sons).

Turned to head back down and was faced with a wonderful image of the moon and three hard working runners nearing the top. It had to be taken.

EXTRA: Look at it in large if you can

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.