Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Caressing the 'cello

I always think that the relationship between the musician and the 'cello is an intimate one. The player surrounds the instrument with his/her body; the body resonates with the sound.

This afternoon my good friend Marjorie came around. She is a wonderful pianist and has been learning the 'cello in recent years. I accompanied her on the piano while she played her current pieces.

For this image I moved her into the window so that we could use natural light. There was very poor light all day today so I had to push the ISO and still could not achieve fast enough shutter speeds for the movement. I do like the way the 'cello is encircled in this one - it's one of many I took to try to capture the best moment.

Tonight we went to see the live broadcast of the National Theatre's Travelling Light at Hexham's Forum Cinema. It was wonderful and I'm sad there were so many empty seats. If you have the chance to see it, do go.

PS I have blipped Marjorie before
Playing the 'cello

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.