Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Nostalgia

Yesterday I was accompanying my friend Marjorie while she played her 'cello. Today I returned to the piano, rarely touched by me these days, and I played songs from the 40s. It was a very romantic era and there are great tunes and great lyrics.

My parents met and courted after the War and married in 1948. Their favourite song at the time was "We'll gather lilacs" by Ivor Novello. (My mother was a fan and even saw him on stage at the Sunderland Empire.) So today's blip is one of our copies of the music on my lovely Yamaha upright. Best seen large. This is a mono image with sepia toning and a touch of HDR.

Yesterday my Dad would have been 96 years old. He died when he was 71 and it's nice to occasionally have these lovely reminders of him. I still use his hankies sometimes!

It's been a very grey day. I took both cats to the vets for boosters. Carla has a healing corneal ulcer and has to have eye drops (just about to attempt the first dose). My photo workshop in the Lakes tomorrow has been cancelled because of the bad weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.