Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Sharing Assembly

Another milestone reached.

For the uninitiated, sharing assembles are when a group of children from each class share with their parents what they've been studying. To date H has always flatly refused to take part.

Then a few weeks ago he told me that he was going to be in the next one. I didn't say much, because I thought that he'd pull out at the last minute, but he didn't.

His class have been studying India and part of that has been looking at India's cultural history of story-telling, film and dance. Each child has been working on their own Indian story.

I must admit I was a bit surprised when H told me that he was going to be reading the story he'd written. This is the child who had barely written more than a few lines at a time for a couple of years. But although all his preparation was done by hand the teacher advised him to type his final piece. He wrote loads and it wasn't half bad :-) He read it beautifully too. Some of his classmates then performed an Indian dance, which was really good. H told me that he'd declined to take part in that bit.

The school are good about us videoing and taking photos but they do ask that we don't post photos of other children on the web so I caught H just as he was going up to the stage and everyone around was moving. I was lucky that he saw me, stopped dead, and smiled. I've trained him well ;-)

I think he's very proud of himself. He's slain another demon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.