10/29 extreme angle

Honestly at a loss for today's blip, how to somehow get an "extreme angle" into things. I think I've managed. Each shot from a different angle - the only one not covered is from below but that was tricky given the monstrocity was at floor level anyway... There's more on the photostream. "Art for the journey's sake", is what I'm going to refer to these creations as!



Ben's been off his oats three days now, hardly eaten a thing. I'm pleased that he ate a small yoghurt today and a couple pieces of ham, but not even marshmallows could tempt him at teatime. He acknowledged a sore throat last night as he croakily begged for yet another milky cuddle (Charley by contrast is asking for perhaps two ten-minute feeds a night at the moment - more on that in a bit) just as I was dropping off to sleep. At least nobody was sick last night, although I did feel sick and understand what the boys have been through now - all the extra saliva being swallowed and the mucus, just makes me want bread and butter to soak it up but I forgot supper last night and felt sick as a result. Hey ho.

So: Charley. Now I was reading the Analytical Armadillo's blog yesterday, she was talking about a recent bit of research looking at the different eating habits of infants / toddlers and links to childhood obesity and while to me a lot of it made sense that's not what leapt out at me. It was the one sentence on cavewomen nursing their babies mostly at night (bedsharing, breastfeeding on demand) and how the baby would mainly then sleep in the sling during the day. (And therefore leave Mrs Cavewoman mostly free to get one with stuff!)

Now this made me think. I would LOVE it if Charley's sleeping / eating patterns were like that but he loves his big brother too much and is too interested in the world around him and so he has big feeds during the day and stays awake lots and then sleeps lots at night and has tiny little go-back-to-sleep feeds at night. I'm waking up to feed him when he stirs and he doesn't even want a boob and then I struggle to drop off because I'm not getting the release of the sleepy hormones!!

How typical. I'm one of the minority of mamas who wish their little one WOULD feed lots at night, and I get a sleeping baby. Gotta laugh at the absurdity :)

Today I missed my dentist appointment thanks to a combination of baby wanting a typically big meal before going out, and a fuzzy poorly head causing me to choose the wrong route to the dentist which even if it had been free of roadworks it would have taken longer to get there than the main road. As it was, there were several sets of roadworks plus traffic and I got to the dentist so late that I missed my appointment: it's now soup, porridge and hot chocolate til Tuesday morning and it's tempting now to do something involving teeth for the valentines blip that day although it might end up a little freaky...

This afternoon we had the car after taking Steve to work so we called in at the supermarket on our way home for soup among other things. The other things ended up bringing our total to over £50 and then we had to leave the trolley by customer services and dash back out to the car because as we got out of the car Ben told me to shut the boot because it was cold, and I went and left all the shopping bags and my wallet in there. Thanks Ben. So we get through the checkout and the lady says do you want to use your reward points? I ask how much I've got, and I end up spending a whopping 23p on my shopping!

I love it when things like that happen. They don't happen a great deal but when they do they just inject a beautiful spark into a frustrating day.

We wasted a half hour this afternoon painting yesterday's sticking and glueing monstrocity. It is now a garish pink green and yellow monstrocity which is going to take WEEKS to dry. And I can't bin it until it's dried enough to be displayed and/or has had Ben's picture taken with it. Gahhh!! At least he enjoyed himself. He does love painting, for short bursts. I wonder if we did enough of it, maybe his technique would start to become more refined.... but how long would it take? How many rolls of cheap B&Q lining paper? How much paint, and cleaning up, and how paint-caked would the sofas and floorboards get? How long would it take before serious cracks started appearing in my sanity?!

Didn't know what to blip tonight but it had to somehow involve the Monstrocity :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.