Landscapes in glorious technicolour

I had an afternoon off, which is very decadent, but I had to use up some holiday at work and today was the only day on which nothing important was going on. After visiting the Algerian Coffee Stores with Teresa, I met Fred at Trafalgar Square. Our aim was to see the David Hockney's A Bigger Picture exhibition at the Royal Academy. When we reached the gallery, there was a queue that reached into the forecourt, but we remained optimistic and were rewarded with tickets half an hour later. I worried that the gallery would be too crowded to see anything, but initially it was OK. Only the last couple of rooms were really stowed.

The exhibition is a glorious celebration of nature. I love his colours and lines - very childlike in tone and perspective. There were lots and lots of treescapes, which really appeal to me. The autumnal landscapes were my favourites.

We followed the gallery with a trip to Piccadilly Waterstone's and a curry at the local restaurant. A perfect holiday afternoon and evening.

Have you seen these photos of underwater dogs?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.