Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sunrise at Leekstermeer

Boats moving slowly minutes before sunrise at Leekstermeer, Groningen, The Netherlands.

Another weekend, another dawn patrol.... I got up at 5.30 this morning to capture the sunrise at Leekstermeer. All alone, with just the sounds of geese and ducks around me, I witnessed a great sunrise and managed to get a couple of good shots. What a relaxing way to start the weekend...

This was also the first time I used my new tripod, ballhead and L-plate. Last week, in Hindeloopen, my old tripod broke. An unpleasant surprise, but not entirely unexpected as it was made for indoor use and I have used it quite heavily outdoors and in rather extreme conditions as well. The new tripod and ballhead are more suitable for the conditions I'm using them in and the L-bracket allows me to shoot in portrait while keeping the camera centered on the tripod. I'm liking the combination already.

Better somewhat bigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.