Sheffield Photographic Soc Annual Print Exhibition

An afternoon of culture in Sheffield! First the annual print exhibition of the Sheffield Photographic Society ... and there are some excellent images on display which are very varied in their subject and theme. They were judged by Leigh Preston and I like the fact he's selected a photo-journalistic image as the overall winner. Not the usual photo-club stuff by any means! One more afternoon before it closes - it's on at the Cathedral.

I chose to take my photo by the only available light and was fortunate in that I had a willing subject for my image (I never did ask her name - silly me) who agreed to pose while I took the photo - the man kind of crept in! The tiny mono print on the bottom right was brilliant - called `Bound', it depicted two spoons tied together. Maybe it doesn't sound much but I liked it.

We then went across to the Winter Gardens where the `Family in British Art' exhibition is on at the Millennium Gallery. A mix of painting, photography, video and ceramics. Highly recommended if you are in Sheffield.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.