Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Journey

This sculpture stands in the south aisle of the parish church of St Mary on Lindisfarne. It depicts the monks on the first stage of their journey to carry St Cuthbert's coffin to Durham. The sculptor, Fenwick Lawson, made the figures from pieces of elmwood, carved principally with a chain saw. A bronze copy stands in the market place in Durham.

I was on Lindisfarne today on one of our photo club assignments. 17 of us made the journey. L and I went early and were on Bamburgh beach in time for dawn. We crossed the causeway to Holy Island at 0820 and had a very good day's shooting. My boots were soaked from my endeavours to obtain a good angle on Bamburgh Castle - the sea won that one. I can report that Seal Skinz waterproof socks do work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.