Late afternoon walk

This is the side of `The Monkey' Public House taken just before I turned off left along a public footpath. I managed a quick walk when I returned home for the studio this afternoon. It's so good that the nights are now getting lighter and it's been very mild today too.

The local name for the pub has always been`The Monkey' but its real name was `The Eastfield'. In medieval Britain, villages had three fields which were divided up into strips of land and villagers were allocated a selection of strips - in this way you got some good land and some poor. The land around the pub was the site of Thurgoland village east field. Hence the name. The name seems to have been officially changed at the time the TV company were filming a few episodes of Last of the Summer Wine.

I won't tell you that this is just how it came out of the camera because it isn't. I chose to expose the scene for the building as I knew I could add some drama back into the sky post processing, but I wouldn't have been able to put back any detail in the building if I'd ended up with a black silhouette.

Studio day today - I could have posted a photo very similar to last week but the light wasn't quite so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.