The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Petrified Forest

I wonder how old this tree was? It was a beautiful red maple, as you can see. People were stopping and carrying off hunks of it all afternoon.

It was my next door neighbor's tree. For those of you who I am facebook friends with, it is the neighbor whose home was run into by a drunk driver a few months ago. As a result, his home suffered $90,000 dollars U.S. worth of damage, and this beautiful tree had to be cut down to allow for proper repairs to the foundation of the home.

What a pity! As you may know, I love trees, and hate to see one cut down in its prime. I would love to take a slice of this tree and make a table. The color is magnificent, and resembles the Amethyst geodes that I collect. Imagine just how beautiful this wood would be once sanded and polished to a high luster......

I wasn't bothered when they cut down the boxwood that was growing into the foundation of the aging home, but this Maple's demise really bothered me. Somehow, the home lost its charm today, and I imagine that the owner will not be happy when the first air conditioning bill arrives this year.

Trees = Shade = Coolness.

A rather sad day here in Tree City U.S.A..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.