Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

London Eye

I hate the London Eye. I don't mind the big wheel so much. I just think it should never have been plonked in the heart of the capital. They could have put it in Chelsea or next to the Dome out in Greenwich. Skywards it can look impressive, but on the ground it's surrounded by tacky tourist stuff. People today had to run the gauntlet of living statues, men who want you to pay them for standing still on a bucket while wearing some old clothes sprayed gold.

I can't make my mind up about the National Theatre. It's a bit grey, or was before the graffiti scribblers got their hands on it. I was torn today between grafitti, Olympic rings or the London Eye, colour or black and white? So set up a new gallery for London wanderings.

The afternoon ran away with itself in the reading rooms of the British Library after a wander around St Pancras for a while, then off to the Royal Geographical Society for an Earthwatch lecture. And now it's late and I'm still sifting through photographs. So the Eye it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.