Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Camellia seppuku

I don't like the London Eye (yesterday's blip)) and I'm not very fond of Camellias. There seems to be a pattern developing here which may prompt you to ask: well why the hell blip them? Perhaps it has something to do with getting grumpier as I get older. Gill certainly thinks so.

I mean, the Camellia is OK, apart from that colour clash - what's that all about? But this particular specimen that lives in a pot, is deeply annoying. I have just moved it to a place where we can see it better and it's getting its own back by shedding its buds. I keep the soil topped up with the plant food Camellias like. It gets watered, tidied etc. and this is the way it repays me. I suppose I only blipped it because I know that at any moment this flower could commit a silent seppuku*.

According to Wikipedia this particular variety of Camellia has many uses. You could have fooled me.

I'm conscious that these blips are becoming a bit flowery of late, perhaps because, unconsciously (well, consciously now, of course) I'm bent on recording all the flowers in the garden as they open. I'd better not make that a goal or it will become as obsessive as blipping and that's bad enough.

*This blip, as they do, led me to read up on Japanese suicide rituals and I note that one of the kamikaze aircraft - a sort of piloted bomb - was called Ohka That's cherry blossom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.