wingpig

By wingpig

evaluating distractions

Despite vowing to never waste a day again I feel that I've done very little today. It's probably all down to not going out for an early-morning walk which was slightly due to staying up late to photograph the eclipse and partly due to subsequently removing bits of the computer then finding a spare IDE cable then getting my bike back in shape then generally buggering about on the internet and NOT SLEEPING until too late.

Popped round to erstwhile colleague Alan's house this morning to fix his computer after a week of him having to speak to his family instead. No idea why it wasn't working but with the aid of a spare HDD and reinstallation it now functions sufficiently for him to do some backing-up prior to reformatting and starting again.
I hadn't left myself enough time to walk over but it was a good time to get my bicycle running again after a month off. For some reason circumstance has prevented me from cycling during February for the past three years; year one was due to my bicycle being knackered due to it slipping on a path of oil heading down the mound (four chin-stitches), year two due to the evil mud where my parents live destroying my chain over the course of January and this year just because after cycling out to DHL to pick up my new camera then going on holiday for a week I've been walking everywhere in order to take pictures. Nice to be back on the saddle and glad that I washed and oiled everything before leaving it unused for a month.

I did attempt to make use of the afternoon by popping into town to replace my work-trousers with a pair which don't have holes at the top of each leg (something to do with the way I walk as all my trousers die this way) but was not motivated and succeeded only in buying some vouchers for Nicky's sister's birthday and a secondary work-flask so that I can stop being forced to buy expensive commercial coffee if an afternoon looks like being busy. I did discover that Fat Face have their first shorts of the year on sale but they're not really baggy enough; hopefully a subsequent model will be as all my current shorts are getting a bit thin around the gliffets.

After a temporary scare earlier when it looked like I'd lost my work passcard (safe in the washing machine) I did the usual take-a-weeks'-worth-of-shirts-in-to-my-locker trip and got this in the little lane between Grindlay and Bread Streets. There is an whole fambly of pipes there but I wasn't really in the mood despite carrying my big tripod with me. Maybe tomorrow lunchtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.