A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

WASGIJ!

I like jigsaws but don't do them very often (I did 2 last year), but I asked my son for a jigsaw board for my birthday last year for more portability and to avoid me getting backache at the dining room table.

This is the second time I have used it and the puzzle was lent to me by my walking partner C.

It is a WASGIJ - which of course is jigsaw backwards. Very appropriate when you understand why. I started this and was immediately stumped on how to start as unlike most jigsaws you are not reproducing the picture on the box. If you look at this in large you will see the view of the box is not the same as the view on the finished jigsaw.

The idea is that you complete the puzzle as if viewing the picture from the other side! Here the view beyond the boat out to sea rather than in towards the harbour as on the box. As well there is a twist with Neptune appearing from the deep to reclaim his mermaid caught by the fisherman. (There is no clue to this on the box)

So there is quite a challenge as well as a bit of fun. After the initial shock of not being able to employ my usual techniques I enjoyed the challenge.

Thank you C for loaning it to me - the second one she has given me is of a vicarage garden party entitled 'Calendar Girls' - I wonder what secret that may hold!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.