A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Moorland discovery.

Well it was a discovery for me! It is said to be the remains of a bronze age dwelling and although described as a 'stone circle' it is more likely to be a 'ring cairn' according to the article here in the Northern Antiqarian.

Any way it is in the middle of Harden Moor where we walked this morning and one of our select little group knew how to locate them. Amazingly they were just off the paths that we walk quite frequently near the old quarry with all it's stone paved paths showing the ruts from carts pulled over them for many years.

In the far distance you can see (in large) some of our other walking areas.
Just below the edge of the moor the buildings of Ryecroft where we walked last week.
The woods in the bottom of the valley are those of Goit Stock, and just beyond the end of those woods you can just make out Hewenden Viaduct.
This latter area was the place of my childhood - so very familiar to me. All the more amazing then that I am still discovering things I have never seen or heard of before.

Life is full of interesting surprises - even on your door step!

PS I've just topped 95000 views in just under 2 years. I'm quite impressed although Rainie commented today that she has made 200000 in the same time. Well NZ is so fascinating I can forgive her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.