A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Great institution.

But a dying one - The bottle of fresh milk delivered daily to the door.

When we met Roger (Boss of TussockTales) in Wanaka, to collect Blipbear, we had a discussion about the Dairy industry in New Zealand. Coming from a small dairy farming area in West Yorkshire and having been brought up on a farm here, we were very interested in the contrast between something that is booming in NZ and something that has been in decline here for many years.

Somehow we got onto the subject of milk being delivered in bottles which we still enjoy.
Roger was amazed and said I must blip this. I'm normally in bed when the milkman comes so its just the bottle you have got here, but I have photographed it today as the bottle seemed particularly apt.

I think this is sadly now quite rare in the UK never mind New Zealand.

I spent my childhood on a small dairy farm with Jersey cows and apart from occasionally drinking milk straight from the churn in the farm dairy, I have always had milk delivered in bottles to the door. We used to get un pasteurised until it became non PC and the bottles had the farmer's name or farm herd on them. Now you can end up with bottles from anywhere and the milk may not be from the farmer down the road but I think it is a great institution and no matter what the extra cost, it will be a very sad day if it comes to an end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.