Already Learning

It was just 6 short days ago that I saw these babies for the first time. Let's see if this link works! Hopefully...click here. WOO-HOOO! IT WORKED!

In six days...they have already grown so much!

My wife took a quick look, and said..."Awwww." Then she went shopping...leaving me with the family of four.

They wouldn't come out of the shade. Plus, all the babies wanted to do was sleep. Kind of reminded me of human babies, and their ESP life. Eat, sleep, and poop. I decided to let sleeping babies lie, and went to the other end of the pond.

A wood stork kept me entertained for 20-25 minutes...trying to swallow a piece of bony fish. You could tell it was bony because you could hear it in his gullet. A heron and an egret came in for a steal, but Woody wouldn't let go. When I left, he was still trying to swallow it. I must learn how to put my alternates somewhere...because that was a gruesome but interesting shot. "OVERCOME YOUR COMPUTER FEARS...MEATHEAD!!!"

The chicks are learning fast. The one on the left is waiting for bugs from Dad, but is also doing some pecking herself. The one on the right is on alert. "DANGER...I HEAR A NEW SOUND!!!" The little guy was right. A gardener on a 4-wheeler was approaching...spraying the edge of the pond for weeds. Mom and Dad went nuts...squawking as only sandhill cranes can! Listening...I tried to put a spelling to their anxious calls, but couldn't. Almost indescribable.

They started walking towards me, and I thought I should give them some space. Lisa picked me up, and we had a nice lunch at Chick-fila.

The babies are still unnamed. I'm thinking.

Click LARGE for a better baby beak shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.