Journey Through Time

By Sue

Portland, Oregon

This is a view of some of the downtown buildings from the Marquam bridge at 50 mph. When I met my Bill, I was working in downtown Portland. I had gone to business school in Portland and hoofed it all over the place from the bus to school , to the Virginia Cafe for lunch sometimes, back to the bus. Then I got a job with Georgia Pacific and worked in one building and then they moved to the new Georgia Pacific building and we were further south of the downtown area and I hoofed it to Meier and Frank during lunch hour and got the bus home. I was familiar with some of the downtown area. Then I married, eventually quit my job and the downtown experience was pretty much over with. Now when I go down there, the "downtown" has expanded considerably and it would take me days to explore all that is available.

Bill and I took his little truck to the Sellwood area, which is such a nifty neighborhood of old homes, artsy people, tons of antique shops and the usual coffee places, cafes, restaurants and the like. We had to pick up a chair that a friend of Aunties had tried to sell for her. That didn't pan out, so we had to go get it for her and take her the chair as her neighbor is going to buy it. (Fascinating, no?) So, Vancouver to the freeway, over the bridge, down Macadam Avenue to Sellwood bridge (which is very old and will be totally replaced by 2014?), into Sellwood, pick up chair, back via the "scenic route" near Reed College, to a main street called 39th but is now Cesar Chavez Blvd, for reasons that are still a bit unclear to me, follow Glisan street all the way to NE 172nd, turn off at Auntie's apartment, drop off chair, say hello, leave for home via Airport Way which gets us on the I-205 bridge and back to Vancouver. That was about 2 hours. Good grief. Oh well, his choice of route. I had the camera at the ready and the only thing to come out of the trip that was any good was this image.

It was a beautiful, sunny, warm March day with breezy/windy conditions. It was about 62 degrees in Vancouver today.

I almost went with this daffodil.

PS THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR LIKING MY LITTLE SINGING WREN!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.