Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Because he can

Sometimes I think birds just sing because they can. This little titmouse (baeolophus bicolor) perched on the cherry tree and sang at the top of his lungs for several minutes. Perhaps he was just demanding to be blipped. In truth, I was all set to blip this chickadee in the cherry tree but how could I resist the titmouse, really? Plus, he deserved honors on sheer volume alone! How on earth does such a tiny bird make such a HUGE noise??

He is best viewed ear-splittingly large by the way!

I also had a visit from the mockingbird today, with a tiny drop of water hanging from his beak. And while I was doing a little garden prep, the dark eyed juncos hopped around nearby to keep me company. The forecast of rain never materialized - I'm of mixed feelings because we could really use the water, but ... well, it was nice to potter around outside.

And as quick as you can say "chick-a-dee-dee-dee" the weekend is over. This sort of explains how I suddenly became 56 I suppose...

From the looks of things, it sounds like most everyone has had a good weekend, some enjoying spring while others embark on fall.

By the way, all you bird-lovers may want to check out Bald Eagle Nest Cam which is alive feed of two bald eagle nestlings being tended by their parents. The quality of the feed is not top notch, but it is pretty fascinating to see these rather fierce adults so delicately feed tiny bits of food to their young. Hubs says the chicks look like dryer lint. Ever the romantic...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.