Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sunning themselves in Paphos

I have had to back blip this image because there was no internet connection last night. I hope you will see it because I also wanted to tell you about today. It was full of interest and delightful people.

First I was taken by G, the hotel owner, to see his 4 horses who live on land beside his sports stadium and football fields. The light was very harsh and the wire fencing around the field made it difficult to capture good images but I did my best.

Then I walked along the promenade from the south east of Paphos, passing loads of large (nearly identical) hotels on my way to the harbour. There were sun loungers in abundance and sunbathers too, in various stages of white to lobster red. I spotted these three on the beach - I think they may be suffering now!

I visited the large Archaeological Park and had time to explore in detail. The mosaics are amazing.

En route I met:
A family of 5 - Mum as trying to explain to one boy why she was not going to buy Cola for him - "you don't like it, you never drink it" she explained patiently

The little photogenic dog called Angel at the beach side bar.

The couple from Edinburgh who were married 49 years ago yesterday. He showed me the card in his wallet to prove he is a member of the Edgeways Club (for men who can never get a word in edgeways!)

The Italian couple with their first baby, M, aged 10 months. Papa, who looked a lot older than Mama, told me they tell themselves he is there 3rd baby so they can be more relaxed about raising him. "Does it work?" I asked. "No" he laughed.

The happy staff at the harbour side restaurant who wanted to be sure I enjoyed the apple pie.

The 2 young sales girls who persuaded me to try a hand rub of Dead Sea Salt - use once a week to exfoliate. Full of vitamins. Only 22 euros instead of 45. They were so disappointed when I declined to buy.

The couple who arrived at the hotel tonight. She has pure white hair with a reverse Mallen streak dyed into it. I've never seen the like of it.

The only person who has not been delightful or helpful was the bus driver when I took a bus back to the hotel. He had not idea where I wanted to go, would not look at the map and told me to press the bell when I wanted to get off. I had to guess!!

That's much longer than usual. Hope you enjoyed my day and sorry I can't show you more of the images from it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.