Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Challenging weather

Took Carla to vet's for a check, post dental extraction. The socket has not healed and more drilling (at vast expense) may be required.

Then did about 8 mile walk to sort out a bit of route in a walk I'm leading in the Walking Festival. I started at Housesteads where numerous holiday makers were looking rather cold and miserable in the wind and rain. Most of them did not make it to Hadrian's Wall at the top of the hill where the rain changed to hail.

Walking west to east was OK, with the wind and hail behind me. I lunched in an old lime kiln and suddenly the weather improved. If not, I would have gone home then. The sun nearly broke through, but all the time the winds were sending clouds and rain fronts scudding by.

Here is Broomlee Lough during a brief spell of better weather. I'm looking west.

On my way back, via Sewingshields Farm and the Trail, the hail resumed, this time into my face. Exhilarating? Challenging?

I do hope the weather improves for the Festival in 3 weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.