Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A perennial or annual question.......

....................when is a weed a weed?

The humble and invasive dandelion has started to blossom in my garden again. It is a thing of great beauty, but a great nuisance too.

I've been confined to barracks nursing my cold again, hoping to be back to normal by tomorrow. I experimented with different ISO settings whilst finding a blip for today. The quince flowers were in the shade, but even at ISO 2000 the grain was hardly visible. These modern cameras are terrific.

This was taken at a much more modest ISO. In large you should be able to see the pollen on the stamens.

LH has been in the hutch outside all day. There may be a frost tonight so she is back in her cosy box in my bathroom. One day soon she will be released into the garden to fend for herself, but we are behaving like the anxious parents of an adolescent!!

PS I have just watched Countryfile on BBC One, a couple of hours after posting my blip today. I don't think I'm going to look for burdock roots in the near future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.