The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Changing Seasons

Today was absolutely gorgeous. I was unable to appreciate it fully because I had a lot of work to get done. Tax Day here in the U.S.A.!

As I was sitting in my car waiting for my daughter to come out of school, it dawned on me that I may never wait in this spot again, at this exact time of year, as she is graduating on June 23rd.

Glen Rock High School is small, and connected to the Middle School. This building has been my daughter's home away from home for almost 8 years. She started coming here when she was only in 5th grade, to study advanced placement English and History.

I have a lot of memories of my own high school days, so to think that both of my girls will be past this level of education blows my mind.

Recently, I have been back in touch with a wonderful group of women that I went to high school with. We are all very unique, with our own individual talents, and have worked together to save a friend's life. Some of us have been beaten up along the way,but our common ground has given us the strength to pull one another through the rough days.

As my daughter walks towards the car, a serious look on her face, I knew that today was not a happy one. The memory of my own high school angst rips through my soul, and tears a hole in my heart. I can never accept seeing one of my kids hurting.

I put a smile on my face and hope for the best. This season of her life is about to change, and so is mine.

Time to let go and enjoy the ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.