The windows and patio doors arrive

The upstairs windows have now been replaced and I guess the more difficult task of finishing the opening for the patio doors will happen tomorrow. (They've already knocked out the stone from the interior wall.

I've been to the studio but not achieved a great deal - my mind is simply not clear enough at the moment to develop and pursue any new themes. I did manage a trip to the supermarket however to buy a couple of bottles of wine, some cling film and a couple of packs of hot-cross buns. (The hot-cross buns are popular with our builders and we like the sturdiness of the Waitrose cling-film boxes - sad I know!)

I've got a feeling it will be an early night for me. I'm reading Pompeii by Robert Harris and I'm absolutely gripped. I know it's a long time since it came out but as I've just read my way through his other two books set in the Roman Republic, so this was a natural follow-on. I've got the book group to thank for setting me off in this direction.

And it's rained again and then some more, but it did finally dry up as I drove home across Grenoside. I've never seen the pond quite so full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.