Refurbished

I worked through until 2.30 am and got up again at 7.00 to do some more work. Things went well, and I was able to set it aside and go to the National Concert Hall for one of the Coffee Concerts with the National Symphony Orchestra. I'd arranged to meet two of the guys from the music group, but we actually ended up as four, since another member had also decided to give the concert a go. The 'coffee' bit of the concert is that the admission ticket entitles you to complimentary coffee before and after. It was an enjoyable programme (highlight Schubert's 3rd Symphony), broadcast live on RTÉ Lyric FM.

I was on a mission after the concert, booking a restaurant for my next sort-of-monthly meet-up with ex-music-Group Tom. We take it in turns to choose an eating establishment, and this is my turn. My shortlist consisted of Cookes on south William Street, which I'd heard is closing down, or one of the three or four places in basements along the Shelbourne side of Stephen's Green. The Green places either could only offer an early sitting or were ridiculously pricey, and Cookes turned out to be already closed for business. So I traipsed around a bit, desperately hoping for inspiration. I got it eventually, and booked the Chili Club (Thai food) for Friday evening.

On my travels I came across this building on the College Green end of Grafton Street which is being done up. I don't remember what it was (a building society office?), or what it's going to be, but I like what they've done with the refurb. I must try to remember to keep and eye on it later on and see what use it's put to.

Back home it made sense to sort out Blip before settling back into another extended work session. So here it is, blip number 499 -- and still no definite plan for tomorrow's big event. A couple of ideas, but no actual plan. Hopefully inspiration will strike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.