Skyline 500

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think that I'd reach this point. Sticking to something to this extent is most unusual for me -- indeed, I can only think of one spare-time involvement which has been as significant. 500 days, 500 blips: it's hard to credit.

500 days later, I can't imagine what life would be without Blipfoto. The past few weeks have been tough, but I don't regret a single day of my time here. Getting out and about, camera in hand, has changed the way I relate to my camera, and has made me more aware of my surroundings than ever before. I've learned a few lessons during my time here, most important perhaps being the realisation that photography is not just for sunny holiday days -- indeed, I now tend to prefer less intense lighting than the conditions I previously waited for before taking the camera out of its case.

== <Begin newly added content, 2nd Oct> ==

These are a few personal favourites which stand out from the five hundred --
Coasting
Lightcatcher
Howth Harbour
Work and fresh air
Lazy & Restful -- sort of
Out and about [Croatia, Day 2]
Sunday street scene
Striding
Dandyhead
Smokestacks & Bench
Sopping wet
Swan-neck garlic
Something to grab on to
Irish prairie
Nice. Day 1
Parasurfer (My top favourite of them all)
Power walk
Thoughtful moment
Lifeguards on duty
Beach sparkles
Marina ripples
Assignment 31 (In the style of Dark|Adapted)
Conor

== </End newly-added content> ==

Sincere thanks to Joe and the crew at Blip Central, without whom none of this would be possible. Thanks also to all the wonderful blippers I've got to know over the past eighteen months or so. The support, encouragement and sheer fun which flow from the great people around here are this wonderful site's most wonderful asset. Thanks for your marvellous images, your quirky, pithy, sad, moving, hilarious commentaries and all the wonderful comments which you've left here. It's been a blast so far, and I have every intention of hanging around for a while yet, hopefully still maintaining my uninterrupted contributions.

Finally, a note to the Moderators. This blip is entirely photographic, with the text a separate shot. I made up a 'certificate' which I printed out and took around to some of my favourite blip haunts, originally intending to produce a montage of several shots, with the printout included in each. It all proved too time-consuming in terms of post-production, though, so I settled for this easier option in the end. It would have been nice to follow through on the original idea, but that was not to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.