an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Not Midlife and Not Crisis

Boys skateboard obsession knows no bounds. His latest is that he now tells people that his Daddy can skateboard. When I was a teenager I had a really crappy one and so have stood on one before but thats about it.

So not only do I not want to let my Boy down but also I thought it would be fun to get a new toy, this is not a mid life crisis, I am too young for that surely. So recently I have been keeping my eye out and the other day I saw a decent one at a very good price on the evil auction website.

Today after work I collected the board, but once home decided that it should be hidden from Boy for a while and in the meantime I can get some practise. So tonight I popped out on it to the polling station. I took it easy on the way there as it had been a good few years since I had been on a skateboard and it was a lot of fun.

On arrival at the polling station they were impressed by my transport. I am not sure if it was the returning officers reaction or the joy of using my right to vote that went to my head, but I set off home over confident.

It was about three metres in to the journey home, just as I passed a couple going into vote when I started going forward as the board went backwards. I think I must have hit a raised paving slab with the wheel which made it happen. I certainly hit a lot more paving slabs as I hit the ground. Luckily my helmet was ok as I landed on my left knee and right arm mainly. The two voters looked at the board rolling towards them and then at me. I did that laugh out loud thing you do when something hurts but you feel such a fool you try and disguise it. I grabbed the board and hobbled quickly away.

I decided I had to get back on it quickly but had the wobbles on the pavement. Luckily there was a little park nearby where the grass is covered in cat and dog poo but the path is nice and smooth. So I raced around on that for about thirty minutes to get my confidence back before going home and raiding the arnica.

Falling over definitely hurts more the older you get but its like I told Girl after her first fall on her bike. Its good to get the first one out of the way, then get up get back on again and enjoy the ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.