Arachne

By Arachne

School inspections and cricket

School inspections have been in the news this week and, urban myth or not, I enjoyed this report from the TES:

A PE teacher was reportedly told by a school inspector that their lesson was 'unsatisfactory as there were children doing nothing at some points in the lesson'. The decision was overturned after it was pointed out that the pupils were fielding in a cricket match.

In most school games, the sporty get running and the rest of us feel inadequate. At least in cricket everyone can feel part of the team. If you volunteer to be a deep fielder you can sit at the edge of the field, make daisy-chains and chew that sweet bit at the bottom of grass stalks.

The bunch I spotted this morning didn't even have to sit on the ground.

I'm not a games person (you guessed, didn't you!) and I don't understand the rules of cricket at all, but my sister once took me to an amateur cricket match and I discovered the rule that says you have a mid-way break for tea, cake and strawberries. Just inspired. What could be more inclusive than that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.